Please join me and the rest of the FTG Board in congratulating Yue Yuan and Simon Mayer, the 2021 winners of the best paper in finance theory on the job market this past year. 

First Prize: Yue Yuan graduating from LSE, for the paper "Competing with Security Design" 

Runner-up: Simon Mayer graduating from the Eramus University Rotterdam and Tinbergen Institute, for the paper "Financing Brekthroughs under Failure Risk"

Award committee: Konstantin Milbradt (Chair), Andrey Malenko, Cecilia Parlatore, Martin Ohemke, and Adriano Rampini.

Yue has joined PBCSF at Tsinghua University and Simon will spend the 2021-2022 academic year as the Fama-Miller Fellow at Chicago Booth and then join HEC afterwards. They have both joined the FTG.

Zhiguo He on behalf of the FTG board (Diego Garcia, Brett Green, Konstantin Milbradt, Giorgia Piacentino, and Zhiguo He)